Teriyaki crock pot chicken

Standard

I found a recipe quite a while back (from Lake Lure Cottage Kitchen) for teriyaki crock pot chicken, but the recipe called for chicken thighs. My family isn’t big on dark meat, so I have adjusted this recipe and made it my own. This is so very simple, and adding a vegetable is super easy!

I served brown rice, and I cooked the chicken 4 hours. When I make this again, I will monitor it, because the chicken could have easily cooked in less time. I don’t want the chicken breasts/tenders to dry out!!!

Also, after thickening the sauce, I added broccoli…what a fantastic meal!! It was a hit! Just consider the cook time carefully!

Ingredients:

12 boneless skinless chicken thighs (about 3 pounds)
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup soy sauce
6 tablespoons cider vinegar
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon minced garlic
1/4 teaspoon pepper
4 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
4 1/2 teaspoons cold water
Hot cooked long grain rice

Directions:
Place chicken in a 4 qt. slow cooker.  In a large bowl, combine the sugar, soy sauce, cider vinegar, ginger, garlic and pepper.  Pour over chicken.  Cover and cook on low for 4 to 5 hours or until chicken is tender.  Remove chicken to a serving platter; keep warm.  Skim fat from cooking liquid.  Place liquid in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Combine cornstarch and water until smooth.  Gradually stir into liquid and stir until sauce is thickend.  Serve with chicken and rice.

Photos below:

Ingredients…so easy!

Before cooking…this will be so yummy!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

