Calzones

Standard

I first tried a calzone at a Mellow Mushroom when I lived in Atlanta. When we moved away from Atlanta, those yummy calzones were not “out of sight, out of mind.” I was motivated enough to learn how to make my own! Even though I can get calzones at restaurants now, they always disappoint. I think it is because I can determine just how much of what filling I want when I make my own. 🙂

Don’t be intimidated by making this bread. This is incredibly easy and worth the time!

Ingredients for bread:

1 package yeast

1 cup warm (105-115 degrees F) water

2.5 – 3 cups flour (I use whole wheat flour.)

1 tbsp sugar (I’m sure this could be omitted, but I like the addition.)

3/4 tsp salt

1 tbsp oil

Ingredients for sauce/filling:

1 6-oz can tomato paste

1 clove crushed garlic

1 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp basil

1/2 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp pepper

approximately 1 cup water

Add cheese, vegetables (raw or slightly cooked) and meat of your choice.

DIRECTIONS:

Dissolve yeast in 1/4 c warm water. Let activate for 5 minutes. Mix 2 c flour, sugar, salt and oil. Add remaining (3/4 c) warm water and dissolve yeast.  Add additional flour until dough is stiff. Pour out onto floured bread board. Knead in additional flour until smooth and elastic (about 5 minutes.) Place in lightly greased bowl; let rise for 45 minutes (free from draft.)

Punch dough. Divide dough for individual calzones. Roll out each into circle and cover half of circle with sauce, cheese and other ingredients.

Fold over and pinch edges. Press with tines of a fork.

Place on greased baking sheets. Bake at 400 degrees basting with butter a couple of times until golden brown.

Our family usually prefers different additions to the calzones, but here are a few ideas:

packaged pizza sauce if you aren’t motivated to make your own

mozzarella cheese, ricotta cheese or feta cheese

turkey pepperoni

bacon (bacon bits are a good substitute)

mushrooms

red, yellow and orange peppers

sweet or red onion

fresh or sun-dried tomatoes

banana peppers

baby spinach

Any ingredient used for pizza would go great in a calzone!

Leave a Reply

